First presented in 2011, the Humanitarian Award recognizes an oncologist who personifies ASCO’s mission and values by going above and beyond the call of duty in providing outstanding patient care through innovative means or exceptional service or leadership in the U.S.A. or abroad. It is presented to an individual who distinguish himself/herself through voluntary and non-compensated humanitarian endeavors.

A multitude of service activities will be considered; consideration is not restricted to any one type of action or deed involving patients.

The award consists of a commemorative plaque and support to the recipient to attend the ASCO Annual Meeting. The award recipient must agree to be interviewed by the ASCO Daily News as an important representative of the Annual Meeting program. 

The nomination period for the 2018 Special Awards is now closed. The nomination period for the 2019 awards will open in summer 2018.


To be eligible for this award, candidates must:

  • Be an ASCO member at the time of the nomination
  • Demonstrate a long record of achievement and seminal contributions outside of their clinical, research and educational responsibilities
  • Be available to attend the upcoming Annual Meeting
  • Not have received this award before

Self-nomination is not allowed for this award. Once nominations are closed, all nominees will be contacted to verify acceptance of the nomination.


Candidates for the award are considered by the ASCO Special Awards Selection Committee. The committee considers all nominations as they have been submitted; recommendations are then forwarded to the Board of Directors for final approval.

Please send all inquiries about this award to Special Awards.

2017 Recipient
Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, MBBS, FACP, FASCO

Nomination Deadlines

Nomination Open

September 13, 2017

Nomination Deadline

October 15, 2017

Random Quote

"As medical professionals and as a Society, we must all continue to evolve and transform cancer care and research with each new discovery."
Julie M. Vose, MD, MBA, FASCO
ASCO President, 2015-16