First awarded in 2007, this award and lectureship were created in the name of B.J. Kennedy, MD, a past president of ASCO, in honor of his outstanding contributions to the research, diagnosis and treatment of cancer in the elderly, and in recognition of his bringing an understanding of the field to the many fellows that he mentored.

The award is presented during the ASCO Annual Meeting and the recipient is highlighted in ASCO Daily News, on the ASCO website and in other Annual Meeting publications.  The recipient is invited to deliver a 30-minute lecture on a pertinent topic in geriatric oncology.  The lecture will be recorded with ASCO support in advance of the Annual Meeting and made available to all Annual Meeting attendees. ASCO may in some situations invite the recipient to deliver the lecture as part of an Annual Meeting session.

The award consists of a $5,000 honorarium, a commemorative plaque, and support to the recipient to attend the Annual Meeting in the year the award is conferred.


To be eligible for this award, candidates

  • Must be an ASCO member
  • Must be a geriatric oncologist who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and achievement in the field of geriatric oncology
  • Must have a professional record that includes advanced scholarship, effective mentorship of fellows, and skilled, compassionate care of older cancer patients
  • Must be a distinguished teacher and lecturer

This award may only be awarded to an individual once. Please review the list of past recipients.



Candidates for the award are nominated by the ASCO membership and are considered by the Joint Special Awards Selection Committee. The Committee considers all nominations as they have been submitted; recommendations are then forwarded to the Board of Directors for final approval.

ASCO Board Members and Officers are not eligible to receive Special Awards from the time they are elected through the end of the calendar year in which their Board terms conclude. Joint Special Award Selection Committee members are not eligible to receive Special Awards during their service on the Committee.

Please send all inquiries about this award to Special Awards.

2022 Recipient
Etienne Brain, MD, PhD