This award was created in honor of Allen. S. Lichter, MD, FASCO, to recognize ASCO members who have transformed the oncology field or significantly advanced the mission of ASCO, the Conquer Cancer Foundation, or CancerLinQ, LLC, through their leadership, vision, and ability to inspire. The first award will be presented at the 2017 ASCO Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois.

An ASCO member since 1980, Dr. Lichter served the Society in several prominent volunteer roles, including President (1998-1999), Founding Chairman of the Conquer Cancer Foundation Board of Directors (1999), and Chief Executive Officer (2006-2016). In his ten years as CEO, Dr. Lichter has overseen the rapid growth of the Society and the launch of important new initiatives to improve the quality and value of cancer care. The Allen S. Lichter Visionary Leader Award will honor Dr. Lichter’s commitment and contributions to ASCO and will continue his legacy by encouraging and recognizing extraordinary leadership in oncology.

Learn more about Dr. Lichter.

The award consists of an honorarium, a commemorative plaque, and complimentary registration and travel support to the recipient to attend the ASCO Annual Meeting. The recipient also delivers a lecture at the ASCO Annual Meeting.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2019 Special Awards. Submissions are due by July 9, 2018. Visit the nomination portal to submit your nominations.


To be eligible for this award, candidates must:

  • be an ASCO member
  • demonstrate innovative and inspirational leadership that is transforming the oncology field by promoting the highest quality patient care and improving the lives of patients with cancer; or, whose exemplary leadership, vision and commitment have significantly advanced the missions of ASCO, the Conquer Cancer Foundation, or CancerLinQ; or, whose foresight and ability to inspire the broader cancer community have helped to transform the oncology or cancer experience in a positive way

Candidates for the award are considered by the ASCO Special Awards Selection Committee. The committee considers all nominations as they have been submitted; recommendations are then forwarded to the Board of Directors for final approval.

Please send all inquiries about this award to Special Awards.

2018 Recipient
Nancy E. Davidson, MD, FASCO
Open: Submit by July 9, 2018

Nomination Deadlines

Nomination Open

March 12, 2018

Nomination Deadline

July 9, 2018

Ready to Get Started?

Random Quote

"As medical professionals and as a Society, we must all continue to evolve and transform cancer care and research with each new discovery."
Julie M. Vose, MD, MBA, FASCO
ASCO President, 2015-16