Daniel F. Hayes, MD, FACP, FASCO, is a Professor of Internal Medicine, the Stuart B. Padnos Professor in Breast Cancer, and the Clinical Director of the Breast Oncology Program at the University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center. He is a breast cancer specialist.

An ASCO member since 1986, Dr. Hayes has served the Society in numerous volunteer capacities. In addition to serving as Immediate Past President, he is involved in several ASCO Expert Panels related to breast cancer, including the ASCO-College of American Pathologists Estrogen Receptor/Progesterone Receptor and the HER2 Testing Panels (Co-Chair), the Breast Cancer Consensus Panel, Use of Tumor Biomarkers in Advanced Breast Cancer and Early-Stage Breast Cancer Panels, and the Breast Cancer Guideline Advisory Group, among others. He served on the ASCO Board of Directors from 2011-2014, on the Conquer Cancer Foundation Grants Selection Committee, as Chair of the Scientific Program Committee, and on the Journal of Clinical Oncology Editorial Board. In 2007, he was presented with ASCO’s Gianni Bonadonna Breast Cancer Award and Lecture; in 2013, he was elected as a Fellow of ASCO (FASCO).

Dr. Hayes is past Chair of the Breast Cancer Intergroup of North America’s Correlative Sciences Committee and Chair of the Southwest Oncology Group’s Breast Cancer Translational Medicine Committee. He is a member of the Union for International Cancer Control (UICC) TNM Expert Advisory Panel on Breast Tumours and the Early Breast Cancer Clinical Trials Collaborative Group (the Oxford Overview) Executive Committee. He serves on the Susan G. Komen for the Cure Scientific Advisory Council as a Komen Scholar, in addition to several other past and current leadership roles.

Dr. Hayes completed his undergraduate degree and master’s degree in biochemistry at Indiana University and obtained his medical degree from Indiana University School of Medicine. He completed his internship and residency at Parkland Memorial Hospital/University of Texas Southwestern Medical School and a medical oncology fellowship at Harvard Medical School’s Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.