Clifford A. Hudis, MD, Elected ASCO President for 2013-2014 Term

December 5, 2011

Danielle Blake

ALEXANDRIA, Va. — Clifford A. Hudis, MD, a renowned leader in practice-changing translational research and clinical care, has been elected President of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) for a one-year term beginning in June 2013. During his term as ASCO President, he will also serve as an ex-officio member of the Conquer Cancer Foundation Board. Dr. Hudis will take office as President-Elect during ASCO’s 48th Annual Meeting in Chicago in June 2012. Following his term as ASCO President, he will serve as the ASCO Immediate Past President from June 2014 to June 2015. Additionally, a new Treasurer was elected, five new members were elected to the ASCO Board of Directors, and two new members were elected to the ASCO Nominating Committee beginning in June 2012.

“To me, the opportunity to serve ASCO in any role is an honor,” said Dr. Hudis. “Throughout my career, and most recently as its Treasurer, I have enjoyed all of my activities within ASCO and relished the opportunity to give back to the organization. As ASCO’s President, I look forward to continuing to work collaboratively with our membership toward our common goals of broadly accessible, effective, and affordable cancer care.”

Dr. Hudis, a medical oncologist, is Chief of the Breast Cancer Medicine Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and a Professor of Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College. He obtained his medical degree from The Medical College of Pennsylvania, where he completed his internship and residency, and was a fellow in medical oncology and hematology at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Within Memorial Sloan-Kettering, he has held a number of administrative, teaching, and leadership positions while maintaining an active research program and busy clinical practice.

Dr. Hudis has a particular interest in applying emerging technology to the clinical and research settings. He believes the key issues ASCO should consider are the challenges of resource constraints, a growing cancer burden, and unparalleled opportunities to leverage the technology that is transforming most other areas of modern life. As ASCO President, Dr. Hudis hopes to help the organization take the lead in assisting its members in productively and efficiently incorporating evolving technology that assists them in the delivery of compassionate and evidence-based care.

“Since the start of Dr. Hudis’ career, he has obtained knowledge, experience, and insights that will enable him to optimally serve ASCO and its members,” said Allen S. Lichter, MD, Chief Executive Officer of ASCO. “I am looking forward to working with Dr. Hudis and our newly elected leadership in pursuing exciting opportunities to improve the care and treatment of people with cancer.”

Since joining ASCO in 1991, Dr. Hudis has proven his dedication to the Society through his active service and leadership. From 2009 to 2012, he has served as Treasurer of the ASCO Board of Directors and as a member of the Board’s Executive and Planning Committees. He also was Co-Chair of the Board’s Finance and Governance Subcommittee and Chair of the Finance Committee from 2009-2012. Dr. Hudis has also served as Chair of ASCO’s Integrated Technology Committee and Co-Chair of the Breast Cancer Symposium.

Additionally, Dr. Hudis is a Co-Chair of the Breast Committee of the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, a member of the Steering Committee of the Translational Breast Cancer Research Consortium, and Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Committee of The Breast Cancer Research Foundation. He has also been a Fellow of the American College of Physicians since 2009.

Dr. Hudis has received many awards and honors, most recently the Drexel University College of Medicine WMC/MCP Achievement Award, which recognizes graduates of the Medical College of Pennsylvania who are highly acclaimed for their service and leadership in the medical profession, and the 16th Claude Jacquillat Award for his achievements in clinical oncology, both in 2008.

Newly Elected ASCO Board Members

Susan Lerner Cohn, MD, has been elected to serve as Treasurer for three years. Dr. Cohn is Director of Pediatric Clinical Sciences at Comer Children’s Hospital in Chicago and a Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Chicago.

In addition to the President and Treasurer, ASCO’s Board of Directors is comprised of oncology leaders who are elected to represent different areas within the oncology field. The following physicians will begin three or four-year terms as members of ASCO’s Board of Directors in June 2012:

Smita Bhatia, MD, MPH,
 has been elected to the Pediatric Oncology seat for four years. Dr. Bhatia is the Ruth Ziegler Chair of the Department of Population Sciences, Associate Director of the City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center, Co-Leader of the Cancer Control and Population Sciences Program, and a Professor at City of Hope National Medical Center.

Stephen S. Grubbs, MD, has been elected to a Community Oncology seat for three years. Dr. Grubbs is managing partner at Medical Oncology Hematology Consultants, PA, located in Newark, Delaware. He has held positions at Christiana Care Health System, Dartmouth Medical School, St. Francis Hospital, Memorial Hospital of Salem County, and Jefferson Medical College.

Hagop M. Kantarjian, MD, has been elected to an Undesignated Specialty seat for four years. Dr. Kantarjian serves as Department Chair, the Kelcie Margaret Kana Research Chair, and Professor in the Department of Leukemia at The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center. He is also Associate Vice President for Global Academic Programs.

Gary H. Lyman, MD, MPH, FACP, FRCP, has been elected to an Undesignated Specialty seat for four years. Dr. Lyman is a Professor of Medicine at Duke University School of Medicine and Director of the Comparative Effectiveness and Outcomes Research Program. He is also a Senior Fellow at the Duke Center for Clinical Health Policy Research and a member of the Duke Cancer Institute and Duke Center for Personalized Medicine.

Lillian L. Siu, MD, FRCPC, has been elected to an International Oncologist seat for four years. Dr. Siu is a senior medical oncologist at Princess Margaret Hospital and a Full Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto. She holds a Tier I Research Chair in Experimental Therapeutics supported by Cancer Care Ontario.

New Members of ASCO Nominating Committee

Two newly elected ASCO Nominating Committee members will serve three-year terms beginning in June 2012:

William J. Gradishar, MD, is Professor of Medicine and Director of the Multidisciplinary Breast Cancer Program in the Department of Medicine at Northwestern University and serves as Director of the Maggie Daley Center for Women’s Cancer Care at Northwestern Memorial Hospital/Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center. He will serve as the Chair of the Nominating Committee in 2014-2015.

Patricia M. LoRusso, DO, is Director of both the Phase I Clinical Trials Program and Center for Experimental Therapeutics at the Karmanos Cancer Institute. She is also a Professor in the Division of Hematology and Oncology at Wayne State University School of Medicine, Karmanos Cancer Institute.


About ASCO
The American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) is the world’s leading professional organization representing physicians who care for people with cancer. With more than 30,000 members, ASCO is committed to improving cancer care through scientific meetings, educational programs and peer-reviewed journals. ASCO is supported by its affiliate organization, the Conquer Cancer Foundation, which funds ground-breaking research and programs that make a tangible difference in the lives of people with cancer. Patient-oriented cancer information is available at